Wanna Dance?

One of my best friends, Helene, is the Parisian I talk about here from time to time. I met her about eight years ago while renting a vacation property she owns. We became such good friends that I see her at least once or twice per year. She has even come here to visit us once. She’s like a sister to me.

When I am in France, Helene always passes out great advice about things we should do to experience off the beaten path French culture.  She often takes us to some of these things.

Last summer she took us to small festival out in the country. It was like a barn dance with live music, a fireworks show, and a huge bonfire at the end of the evening. What surprised me most about that evening was how the dancing was exactly the same as Cajun dancing.

Lately, Helene has been encouraging me to take dance classes. She started taking them about two years ago and says this is one of the best things she has ever done. A few days ago she sent me some video links of this French guy, Thierry Desequelle teaching country line dancing. You’ve got to go see this:

You don’t need to speak French to understand the guy, mostly it is just counting steps. Go see.

If you want to see more of his dance lessons, there are tons of them here.

2 thoughts on “Wanna Dance?

Leave a Reply

