This Place is a dump

My kids have really messy rooms. Not that I go in there and poke around much, but I’m working on my daughter’s bathroom wall. She wants wallpaper and the plaster is textured, so I have to replaster it before we wallpaper.

Her bathroom was soooooo sloppy, I had to clean the spot near her sink just so I could work in there. But I didn’t clean the whole thing, just my work area.

I learned a long time ago in a parenting class that kids get rebellious by nature when they hit the teen years. One good way to let them express this independence is to let them keep their room as they please. So here’s the question, messy rooms or them doing donuts in the car?

11 thoughts on “This Place is a dump

  1. I pretty much let Kelsy keep her room as she likes with a couple of exception. No food or food dishes left in the room due to bugs. And once a week she has to pick up everything and clean under it,like vacuum. Then she can throw the stuff back down on the floor.

    I did make her pick up the floor in her walk in closet a couple of weeks ago…I couldn’t get into the closet to hang up her clothes.

    She also ‘rebels’ in the area of food-she eats a lot of fast food and processed food.Wont eat what we eat. But all of this is better than sex or drugs, so I just deal with it.

  2. I really do think this works, it’s a good thing. Their room is their place and they can do what they want with it. So many parents fight with thier kids about their room. Kids have to have some control over something.

  3. Both my kids had horribly messy rooms, and very little-to-no rebellion. Maybe that was the secret! LOL, and I didn’t even know. But you’re right, they have to feel like they’re in control of something, somewhere.

  4. Kitty!

    I think you’re on to something.

    When I was little, my mother let me keep my room decorated the way I wanted. My buddies were amazed — none of them were ever allowed to have posters on the wall, etc. but my mother hated that her mother never once allowed her to change or decorate her own room when she was little and she (my mother) vowed never to be that way with her kids.

    Anyway, neither me nor my three younger brothers ever (and I mean EVER) came home drunk or wrecked the car, or talked back to our folks, or got the girl next door knocked up, or smoked a cigarette, or . . .

    I guess giving over that little realm to the offspring really does work!

    r.

    P.S. Love the old photographs . . .

  5. Rochelle!
    That’s a great story. I do think this is important, probably the best thing I’ve done for my kids. They are all at the age where they could at least sass me, but that has never happened, not one time.
    One other good thing besides letting them have all the control over their room is respect, I’ve always shown them respect, even when they were babies and I’ve always gotten that back from them.

  6. You’ve obviously done a great job raising your children. I hope mine turn out as well as yours!

    Quote of the day:

    “If you bungle raising your children, I don’t think whatever else you do matters very much.”

    -Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis, former First Lady

  7. Sheesh? Just what kind of values are you trying to teach those kids? Give them a little crack cocaine and they will whip those rooms right into shape.

Leave a Reply

