Claws

When my middle child was losing her first tooth, she was in a panic. I told her it was a good thing, she’d get to put it under her pillow and this beautiful fairy with a magic wand would come and pick it up while she was sleeping. And leave money.

She burst out crying and asked me point blank, “You allow this?”

By the end of the day every magical childhood event was in ruins. The tooth fairy. The Easter bunny. Santa. She had to know. Why was I letting all these strangers into the house? At first I told her I could “uninvite” them, but she didn’t believe I had the power to keep them out. Kept crying. I had to give her the cold hard truth. Which she spread to the youngest.

Just yesterday the youngest one was telling me, “Santa Claus is a stalker. He knows when you’re sleeping, he knows when you’re awake.” I couldn’t help but think how rotten that song really is. “You better watch out, you better not cry…”

My son is a little older than the girls. He got the full magical treatment, and I thought he enjoyed it all. When he was a teenager, he took my mechanical waving Santa and put a knife in his hand. It looked like old “Claws” was hacking away at something. He thought that was really funny. Okay we all did. Still do.

11 thoughts on “Claws

  1. I’m sorry, but “You allow this?” is hilarious.

    I found out about all those myths PLUS how babies were actually made in one unforgettable sleepover in the 2nd grade or so. I was blissfully naive until then.

  2. Pooks, I need to find that card.

    Sophia, my mom told us when we stopped believing in Santa, we stop getting presents. There we were, 15 years old telling her, “Yeah there’s a Santa.”

    Rachel and Coleen, thanks for stopping by.

  3. Kitty, that is so funny! ‘and you allow this?’ Is it just me, or are kids just smarter and more wiley now? When I was a kid my dad had a family friend dress as Santa and actually come to the house on Christmas eve – he totally looked the part and being like 5, I completely fell for it. I was so superior – ‘yes theres a Santa, and he visited me personally!’. ha!

  4. Toni, there is a Santa, just don’t tell my daughter, she doesn’t like strangers walking around in her room while she’s sleeping.

    It’s funny, it never occured to me that kids could be terrified of Santa, even though I’ve got a photo of my son crying on his lap at the mall.

    My daughter also had a phobia of Pee Wee Herman.

    Beth, one Christmas morning my brother and I found sleigh tracks in the mud that only Santa could’ve made.

  5. My mother told us, when I was 6 years old, that that song “I saw Mommy kissing Santa Claus” was ture, and it was she who was kissing Santa. I used to get up in the middle of the night to try and catch her.

  6. Pingback: Scary Christmas « The Show Must Go On

Leave a Reply

