Etch-A-Sketch Mentality

The tv commercials are pumping up the New Year’s resolution thing like mad. Nicotine patches and gums, health clubs, exercise machine thingys, all that stuff to make you feel the guilt and hop on the band wagon.

I always hated it when someone would ask what is my New Year’s resolution, “What, do I look like I need one?” The truth is, I have never made one. Sure there is always something in my life that could use some change, and it would be nice to roll with everyone else in the world who is making a major correction at the same time. It just doesn’t work like that for me.

My father was a raging alcoholic. My mom, who never ever drank started going to Al Anon meetings early on. They taught her a lot of things which she’d in turn teach us. One of my favorites was her alcoholic translator. If my dad would say something mean or stupid, she’d say, “That’s the alcohol talking.” She’d often talk about “One day at a time,” also.

Somehow that stuff and my Catholic upbringing turned into this Etch-A-Sketch mentality where yesterdays are shaken and today starts out with a clean new board.

Any day is a good day for a resolution. Speaking of, time to hit the treadmill.


From Google images

3 thoughts on “Etch-A-Sketch Mentality

  1. If you like AA you will also like FA. Same thing but for family members who are out of control for one reason or another…that reason can be drugs, alcohol, control disorder, whatever. I have to periodically dip into that well because of my oldest daughter.

    I don’t believe in resolutions either. But the end of the year is often a time for reflection and for setting new life goals.

    Maybe that’s the same thing.

  2. Do you really workout at night? I am just curious if you have a time of day for working out and writing for that matter? I am with you and CFO Hunny. I don’t really do resolutions but I do take time for reflection.

  3. Cfo, glad you have FA. I’d never heard of it until I met you. I might pop in there one day.

    Yeah, Jennifer, I do workout at night sometimes. I had a ton of errands to do yesterday and don’t let that excuse stop me from getting my good exercise. I have a treadmill at home since I don’t like health clubs. I usually do my walk between 5 and 7PM.

Leave a Reply

