Bye Bye Wallflower

Scientists just found the gene for shyness. They would have found it sooner, but it was hiding behind another gene.

Okay, that’s not true, it’s an old joke from a few years ago. What made me think of it was this article about how some Swiss scientists discovered that using a nasal spray of Oxytocin reduces shyness. Yes that’s the same drug they use to induce labor, and no I don’t mean the kind of labor that brings in a paycheck. Now that would be cool, a cure for laziness.

I don’t know if I’m shy or just quiet. I’m never the life of the party, but I’m not a dud either. I prefer to listen than do the talking.
So, I wouldn’t snort the Oxytocin.

10 thoughts on “Bye Bye Wallflower

  1. I am shy when I first meet people. Tend to hang back and suss things out before participating.

    [ Max is so going to come in and say something disagreeing with this statement, but deep down, she knows I am a shy submissive delicate flower ]

  2. Michele, I wouldn’t have thought you were shy at first.

    LOL Anita Marie! I would never have pegged you as being shy. I’m thinking about your “What’s in that paper bag?” Bee story which I have read about ten times.

  3. “Shy submissive delicate flower” coming from Aj is hilarious. Shy, I don’t know, she could be. Delicate flower, [delicate cough]. But submissive? Unless this is Aussie slag as well. LOL!!

    As for myself, I can be shy and I can be quiet, depending who I am with. On the other hand, I can also be really loud and can’t keep my mouth shut to save my life if I feel comfortable with my interolocutors. Oxytocin? Thanks but no thanks.

  4. I can be shy and tolerant, as well as opinionated and judgemental, plus quite a few other things, but I wouldn’t want to be cured of any of my faults or blessings. They’re me, and I’m quite happy with that. I might be the only one, but I’m also loyal.

Leave a Reply

