Sinking Cars

I was thinking about Candace alot today, my niece who drowned in her car. I think of her every day, some days more than usual. Maybe so much today because of the heavy rains here. I always think of her when it rains like this and the ditches and gulleys swell. Probably always will.

The newspapers and the news said it was an alcohol related death, which did not turn out to be true. She did not have any alcohol (or drugs) in her system. I saw her death certificate. That was ruled out. But it took months to find out the truth. As far as I know, there has never been a correction on the news or in the papers. If there was, how effective would that be anyway? The investigation of the accident, how effective was that, if they thought she was drinking?

Maybe since it was New Year’s Eve, the cops and media wanted to scare people about driving while drinking and used the accident as an example. I don’t know. There was an empty beer can in the car somewhere and they assumed it was hers, but it was from a passenger she’d had in the car the night before. Anyway, that is what was on my mind all day today.

Later this evening the news reported a bridge collapse which sent a lot of cars into a river. That could be why my post about a how to survive a car sinking underwater got loads of hits tonight. Problem with that post is the Mythbuster video I had on there is no longer available from YouTube. It’s terrible, something that could save lives was pulled by the Discovery Channel. I’m assuming it is them who had it pulled. I’ve tried to watch videos on Discovery.com but it won’t work on Safari or Netscape.

I just edited the post and put some British guy doing a similar experiment, getting out of a sinking car. It’s not as good, but it is better than nothing. Go check it out if you haven’t seen it already.

8 thoughts on “Sinking Cars

  1. We have so many old bridges in this country. It’s frightening. Apparently even regular inspections aren’t enough (and a lot of bridges aren’t even doing well on those inspections).

  2. When I was a kid, I used to panic when my parents were driving over tall bridges. I’d have to get on the floorboard of the car while crossing. I didn’t think the bridge would give, I thought we’d accidently drive off of it. I’ve since gotten over that and love driving over them. Until now.

  3. Our news here has been reporting on your bridge collapse there. They said it was inspected two years ago and deemed “unsafe”. Two years is enough notice for any government, council, main roads division to act. I hope heads roll.

  4. I always stretched out on the back seat and covered my eyes until we were over. The worst were those — what do you call those iron bridges with tall girders criss-crossing up the sides? The worst ever.

  5. Yes, Pooks, those are the ones that had me on the floor trembling. I don’t know what they are called, but man, there is one in Louisiana so narrow, it was made for Model T cars, the scariest bridge, ever.

    AJ, that’s on the news here, too. I’m surprised this doesn’t happen more often, bridges collapsing.

  6. The only good thing about it is that school bus with about 16 children that managed to make it to the safe side while the bridge was going down. It is a tragedy any way and someone has to pay for it.

  7. I have always loved going over bridges, but I might be a bit worried after this. It’s unbelivable that the whole bridge gave way. I would have thought they built them so that should a weakness appear, only one section would fall. It’s very frightening to see it all on the news.

  8. I thought the same, that only one section would fall, not the whole thing.

    I’m sure the news will be plastered with “bridge fear” stuff for a while. I don’t ever remembering anything like this happening in this country. I did see an old film of a suspension bridge oscillating, but I don’t think the whole thing fell.

    Sophia, had that school bus went into the water, man, I hate to think about it.

Leave a Reply

