Waystation

Some good friends of ours came over to visit Saturday night. They just sort of popped in which is pretty normal for us Cajuns. It’s great actually, I hate knowing days in advance that someone is coming. Too much worrying and fretting about what I need to get ready for entertaining them. So I’m cool with this surprise visit.

They came to tell us goodbye. They are moving to another country and won’t be back. That was a surprise, too. But it’s something I’ve heard over and over again in this town. People come here for a few years, make their careers or fortunes and then move on to better place.

This is a waystation.

We came here exactly twenty years ago with the intention of staying about five. That turned to ten, fifteen, twenty… A waystation for twenty years.

We came close to moving out to Austin about seven years ago. An inch from it. I really thought it would happen. We sold our boat, had our house appraised, got it ready to sell. Still no go.

I sit here now, my bags packed. We are are always “ready” to go. “Don’t buy anything big,” Blane always tells me. We are leaving soon. This reminds me of the little old ladies in the nursing homes who hang out in the doorways with their bags packed, they tell you, “I don’t live here, my son is coming to get me this afternoon.” Day after day. The same same people saying the same thing. We don’t live here.

One time Blane told me I’ve already left. That might have been taken as an insult by anyone else, but in my psychedelic mind, I loved it. If you understand a little sting theory, you know what I mean.

12 thoughts on “Waystation

  1. I know what you mean about always thinking you will be leaving. We thought we’d be in here 5 years tops. Rented a house for 8 years instead of making the “buy” committment. It’s been 15 years here now.

  2. that’s exactly how my town is! most people come here for the university and end up settling here, without even really meaning to.

  3. The longest place I’ve ever lived is the house I grew up in – seventeen years. The next longest stint was a condo in Vancouver. After that, the longest was the almost three year stint in London. The stability was nice while it lasted. The changes were important when they happened but never easy on me. Rarely in any way fun.

    I love the line about people just dropping by vs anticipating their visit. Most people in my life I would prefer it that way too… No worry, muss, fuss – just a “sorry the place is a mess, can I get you a drink?”

    The image of the old ladies who “don’t live” in their nursing homes. I met one or two once… So well-written kitty…

    Now you have to write a post called “a little sting theory”…

  4. Er, before writing that post on String Theory, Kit, could you give us a little preliminary treatment on M Theory. (This should be fun.)

  5. I like the feeling of freedom temporary provides. Permanent is strict and lacks imagination. Temporary is like a breeze over your hair. Here we usually say “there’s nothing more permanent than temporary” to describe your packed bags.

    But you, I could picture you anywhere in the world. It wouldn’t surprise me if tomorrow you called me and said you moved to France, or Italy, or Thailand. Or any place in the world. Though I believe that mentally, you already are there.

  6. I like the fact that I’m permanent, gives me security. I only went to Denmark for 6 months (too many moons ago) I stayed for 18 months. Came to England for 1 year, still here…. Told my son I want to be buried in Norway, and he told me “but then I won’t be able to visit your grave very often”. That’s why I like the String Theory, I’m all over the place, yet I’m here.

  7. Sulya and Brut, no physics posts over here. LOL. I’m not too good with that sort of thinking. Actually, I may do one on the effects of learning about string theory. It is something unexpected that happened.

    Betty and Boz, since my son grew up here and will stay on, this place will always be at least a destination if we manage to leave.

    Michele, it is always a surprise to me how long you’ve been there.

    Thanks Soph, glad you think of it that way.

    Jen, I hope you’ll tell us about those two months.

    Liv, that frightens me, to think I could be buried here. The horror.

  8. Some folks are into changing it up on a more frequent basis than others. It’s in their genes. From the time I was a kid, I enjoyed change…heck, I’d rearrange my bedroom every couple months just for the “new” view. Change has dwindled for me in some ways, but stays within me in others. I don’t see myself leaving the city I’m in any time soon. But it is time to rearrange my room.

  9. Hi Daily, yeah, I think it’s time to move some things around. I just took out half the clothes in my closet to give to Goodwill.

    Anita, that would explain all the WordPress referrals. When I do end up on there, it is usually in the family category. That totally cracks me up because I cuss so much.

Leave a Reply

