Suitcase Full of Money

Every once in a while I look at some unproduced screenplays on Simply Scripts or Drew’s Script-O-Rama. Sometime last year there were a ton of these unproduced shorts that had one other thing in common besides being a bit unpolished. That thing was the “suitcase full of money.” Maybe it was a writing prompt in some unrelated workshop, or maybe someone wrote about the money and people copied the idea.

They were fun reads, but most of them were not about getting the money. They were about keeping it or spending it.

So I have to ask, if you had a suitcase full of money, what would you do with it? Let’s assume all your debts are paid before you get started so you don’t have to use the dough for that.

38 thoughts on “Suitcase Full of Money

  1. Maybe it’s your screenwriting “entrance” that got me all influenced, but right now I feel that I would use a part of this money to pay a trip to Paris for my mom and the rest of it to produce scripts (mine and friends’). Oh oh oh… and maybe, if we’re talking about tons of money, I would buy out a chocolate industry (just in case).

  2. I would set my son,his new wife and forthcoming baby up in a real nice, big family house. (I would be part of the furniture). Have all the holidays I’ve missed out on all these years. I’d go just about everywhere (where I can get good food) and see everything I ever wanted to see. bring along a good friend or two. Oh, must remember to buy a lottery ticket tomorrow……………………..

  3. Are they ones or hundreds? If they are ones I am not going to get very far. If they are Ben Franklins, that is about a million and that is real cash — with that I could hand some off to a couple friends I know are struggling, pick up some hot new computer stuff, take a trip to Scotland, and go make a kick ass reel.

  4. Max, all hundreds. That’s all it would be, about a million?
    Okay, make that thousand dollar bills. I’d want more than a reel out of you.

    Liv, that’s how I’d roll too, with my friends. And buy houses for the kids, too.

  5. I researched one time the size and weight of a million in hundreds and I do not remember the exact dimentions and weight but it was something like a real solid overhead carry on. If it is a big case on wheels you could maybe get 2.5 in there.

  6. I think the average bank teller robbery only nets around $40,000. Seems like a small number for a bank heist…not to mention the risk (not that I’ve EVER thought about walking into a bank with intent to rob it).

    As for my plans with my suitcase of Euros, 1) ensure the kids college educations are taken care of, 2) a villa in France or Spain where I could ride bike and occasionally watch the pro teams ride by in a whir, 3) a Mercedes. I’ve always wanted a sleek, fast Mercedes to drive on the autobahn. 4) a year in Australia would be sweet.

  7. Max, you can put a money counter on your wish list. Good thing is, everyone is travelling with their money, so it’s better this way. No Thomas Crook money exchange.

    Soph, Euros work for you, right?

    Daily, I know so many people with means who refuse to pay for their kids’ college education. They claim they had to pay for theirs, so…
    That is a great thing to have at the top of your list.
    A year in Australia would be sweet.
    If I ever go there, I’m staying a while, that is a long flight, 24 hours from here.

  8. Yes, I’ll take a year in Australia AND Zew Zealand!!!! Stunning place. Saab is my choice of car. A tank with beauty. I just have to dream on, lottery got the wrong numbers.

  9. Awww. Sorry you didn’t win, Liv.

    AM, how about if we invest in a crash cart to bring you back to life instead (I was ACLS certified). Then we go have some fun.

  10. I’m liking the apartment in paris full of chocolate. I’m liking kids with college paid for. I’m thinking if there were some pooling of bags of money we might even be able to hire our own private jet to take us places we want to go. Together. Not together. Like max, I would definitely have swanky new computer gear – Final Cut, a great dig vid camera – I’d be able to go visit my friend who runs an acting school and just make some movies until i get good at it while helping them to build reels of their own… build my production company that’s been hanging in limbo’ for 4 years now… might consider a profressional chef to cook and make meals a couple times a week… A giant addition on the house so that chef would have a good place to cook… Hmmmmm…. It’s funny – the second you take debt out of the equation, kitty, my brain seizes like it can’t possibly see beyond that one, amazing, liberating goal… so much fun this post, kitty, i’m going to keep thinking about it – and i’ll definitey pitch in for the crash cart for A-M – she needs to live to spend that money dammit!!!

  11. Hey Jen, I agree, comments are so important, the best part about blogging, really. Someone out there has a blog which is called something like, “Blogging is easy, commenting is hard” (I haven’t really checked it out yet so I can’t link it). There is someone else I read about in Newsweek who does nothing but comment on blogs and has become famous because his comments are so snarky.

    Sulya, I like your idea of teamwork, pooling the money together. Since most of us are travelling and want to make movies, we could save lot by ride sharing on our jet plane and just buying one set of equipment.

  12. I don’t want to make movies or act, I just want to see interesting and beautiful places, and meet interesting and beautiful people, enjoy excellent food and share it all with the people I love. So can I visit the Paris apartment now and again?

  13. Ladies, be careful what you wish for…

    I know dozens of people who have won more that a million in a lottery. One story, cut to the chase: Three gals shared 3.8 million. One was married to a guy that was away working on a mega project in a foreign country. She quit her job. When he found out about her winnings he quit his job and returned home. That’s when she found out that he had become an alcoholic. That’s when he advised her about community property; divorced her, and left with more than half of everything she owned.
    Another of the three winners shared her money equally with her three children. She kept a quarter, they each got twenty five percent. The kids bought a restaurant franchise together. Three years later the kids lost everything and all declared personal bankruptcy. They then sued their mother, claiming it was all her fault because she had started them off in something they couldn’t handle.
    The third woman, single, bought a condo across the marina from the Empress hotel in Victoria. As far as I know she kept her winnings in tact. No one has seen or heard from her since. She does not take phone calls. Does not leave her condo. NEVER goes out. Everything must be delivered to the concierge for her. She cracked up, thinks every person she sees or talks to is out to get her and her money.

    … you just might get it.

  14. The divorced woman still got a quarter of a mil take home and she got rid of a bad husband too.

    The woman with bad kids just had bad kids money did not change that.

    The woman who does not take phone calls is probably having red hot sex with a cute delivery guy and does not want to be interrupted that is not cracked up that is having her priorities right.

    That is not a cautionary tale to me.

  15. I do not consider beautiful, produced and published, film school graduates average women so I would convert my suitcase full of Euros into U.S. dollars and buy stock and real estate when the markets crash in a few months.

  16. If you mean spend it on toys, and clothes, and travel, and jelly beans and chocolat ice cream (covered with chocolate syrup and chocolate ants), and that kind of stuff…
    No! I have too much “stuff” already.
    I would probably donate some somewhere to educate some poor kids or something like that. Without the kids we have no future.
    But for me, personally? Real estate and stock will be just fine for me, thanks.

  17. Rochelle, that is smart and safe. A suitcase of Euros would have you set up with a nice “salary” of interest with just simply investing it in CDs.

    No Brut, you do not have to spend any of it on yourself. I’m just wondering if you would spend any of it at all. It is not a bad thing to keep it or spend it. Just a different choice.

    I’m just curious about what people would do with a sack of loot.

    Lots of things I wish for and dream about, money can’t buy. Things like my brother to be clean and sober. I can’t buy him out of that mess. I have tried and failed. Other people have tried and failed.
    I can outrun it for a little while. Go on a trip. It always catches up, though. I know that.
    Donating money to groups that prevent this sort of thing from happening in the first place is a wonderful investment (I do much of this) although I really will never know if I helped anyone.

    Brut, no French cookies? A crate of Bordeaux?

  18. Money isn’t that important (as long as you have a roof over your head and food in your belly). Money doesn’t bring you happiness, but allows you to be miserable in comfort.

  19. The last time I bought French cookies I busted my knee open and got left with an ugly scar. NoMo cookies! As for the Bordeaux I’m no wine expert so a cheap Spanish red will suffice for me. The only wine I buy by the case is FuZion from Argentina about seven bucks Canadian. Always have two cases in the garage for an emergency . I think it compares to a 15-18 dollar bottle; but what do I know. Hey… I’m into the rewrite… Tearing the sucker apart, and it doesn’t hurt like it used to

Leave a Reply

