The Nightmare Song on Rock Band

So we get the game, Rock Band for XBox 360 on the very first day it comes out. We were going to get the one for the PS3 because those instruments are wireless, but Capone (my nephew) said he was getting it for his XBox 360. We go with that system so we can play him online. Blane II gets a setup at his house also.

Day one, the girls challenge Blane II to an online drum battle. They are certain he is cheating, that he has Angela working the pedal for him. He wasn’t that good and suddenly he was beating them. More battles later, Angela and Blane II accuse Blane I of cheating in a guitar battle. They are certain it is really Spanky playing.

On Thanksgiving, we all go to Blane II’s and have a “jam session” on this game. There’s lead guitar, bass guitar, drums, and singing. The way it works is there are multiple levels of difficulty, easy to expert. Your band starts out with a beat up piece of shit van and if you get really good, your band gets a jet plane. The more points you score, the more fans you get, and more songs you can unlock.

That’s where we were, the band had just gotten a jet plane. We call ourselves “The Lucky Charms” and our name is in lights. We unlock this new song and swear it is the last one, we’ll call it a night after we beat this song.

Everyone’s playing on the “hard” or difficult level. Sweetpea’s on lead guitar, Spanky on bass, Blane I on drums, and Angela on vocals. The song is by Deep Purple. Now you’d think the song would be “Smoke on the Water,” right, that is THE song EVERY kid plays when they get their first electric guitar.

But it’s not. It’s “Highway Star.”

And talk about a bitch to play. To sing. To beat.

Everyone switches instruments, different people try vocals, even me, to try to beat this damn thing. Every time we fail, we lose fans. We are losing fans by the thousands. We HAVE to beat this song.

And this song, the lyrics, they are hilarious.

Nobody gonna take my car
Im gonna race it to the ground

I love it and I need it
I bleed it yeah its a wild hurricane

Finally after a looong night of crazy laughter and singing (I never knew my hubby could sing like that!), we beat the thing. As we’re shutting things down, we make up our own lyrics to that Deep Purple tune stuck in our head.

Nobody gonna sing my song, I’m gonna run you to the gro-hound.
Nobody gonna beat my game, gonna run you outta to-hound.

Since that day, we’ve been joking around about that nightmare jam session, singing that song to each other when we least expect it. And then I just saw the commercial for Rock Band. I almost hit the floor.

THAT SONG!

Check it out.

If you are thinking about getting a game for Christmas, for yourself or for a family member, I’d definitely recommend this one. It’s a ton of fun, especially if you have a crowd.

I’d say this counts as a post towards Pooks musical meme. It has a video, some lyrics, and it inspires me to write (blogging is writing, shullup).

But first, tagging: Anita Marie, Jen, Daily, Michele, and AJ.

Here’s the plan:

So here is your assignment for today, dear readers. Find a song that inspires you to write something, whether it gives you an idea for a script or just puts you into a better frame of mind. AND/OR (don’t you love choices) peek into the lyrics and find a stanza that sums up the theme of whatever script you’re working on. It’s quite uncanny how the two circumstances go together.

If possible, post a video of the song to really get people into the mood. (Yep, I’m aware of the irony of using Internet clips during the pissing contest. I like irony as much as bitchiness.)Then, send the assignment (by e-mail or posting to one of their blog entries) to 5 other writers to do.

26 thoughts on “The Nightmare Song on Rock Band

  1. Sounds like top entertainment!!! I’m just sick as a parrot at the thought I wasn’t there to see ya’ll in action. I would have laughed myself almost to death. Klaus and Leanne would love a game like that, in fact if we ever get ourself over there together, you must do it all over again. (just looked at my 1987 diary and found out that on the 8th of Nov. that year we set off for Texas. Bloody Hell !!! That’s just over 30 (!!!) years ago. No wonder I look so young in photos from that time. But why the heck haven’t you aged?????)

  2. Old age is getting to me and I’ve lost the ability to count!!!! Of course it’s “just” 20 years. I feel 10 years younger all of a sudden.

  3. Pingback: I’m after you « OY GIRL

  4. Pingback: Sunny Longyear and Co. « Irregular Bones

  5. Pingback: Man… « i am the octopus

  6. Jeeze I am still playin gallactica on PSP. OH my first BFF’s older bros were into Deep Purple so this was kind of a flash back watching this vid. OK I am going to take care of that tag now…right now. : )

  7. Jen, are you using Safari? I can’t blog like I used to with that browser. I have to use Firefox to write a post.

    I thought it might have something to do with upgrading to the new Mac OS Leopard because that is when the problem started. My Safari updated at the same time, so maybe it is just that. I don’t know. Try Firefox to write new posts.

  8. Yeah, it is what came with my Mac. I don’t use Explorer because MS stopped supporting their Mac version a couple of years ago.

    I don’t know if a lot of people use Safari.

Leave a Reply

