Rusted

Outside, the sky had an odd rusty color all day. It was dank and looked a bit foggy, but it never built to a rain. It was like an all day seep. I spent most of the day on the road.

The time I was home, it was a bit rusty and awkward in here too. Sweetpea had her… I don’t know what to call him anymore. But he was here. A few days ago she had asked me for advice about her boyfriend of two years. What to do. I like the young man, he is good to her, and he has become a family friend. I listened mostly, then told her, “be kind.”

So tonight, while eating pizza with us, his swollen eyes and silence told me his heart was breaking into a million pieces. I don’t know if he knew what I knew.

It breaks my heart to see my kid break someone else’s kid’s heart. It breaks Sweetpea’s heart too.

First love. Beautiful and ugly at the same time. Celebrated over pizza.

holiblack07.jpg

17 thoughts on “Rusted

  1. Ouch! My son and his girlfriend broke up. And I wanted to cry. I had grown to care about her. They still are friends but… Sometimes life is just too much about pain.

  2. I know they will think about each other for the rest of their lives. It won’t always hurt, we know that.
    I was hurting for him. Poor kid. I always thought he would be the one to break her heart.

  3. “His swollen eyes and silence” , I read that and my eyes just welled up and a pain appeared in in my chest. Hit me too suddenly. Way too early in the day for this. Why am I upset? I don’t know the kid, and as long as it wasn’t Sweetpea that got hurt, I shouldn’t care. Must have been the way you wrote it. Touching. That image will be haunting me all day. Bless him.

  4. Oh, that is so sad. Poor guy. Love hurts sometimes. She must have done the deed kind as it can be done. He stayed for pizza.
    Are you still friends with any of your old boy friends? We visited one of mine yesterday. 😉

  5. Liv, it is heartbreaking. I never thought it would bother me either. It’s been bothering me all weekend (she broke up with him on Thursday and he’s been calling her a lot begging her to take him back).

    Voodoo, I think she was probably kind, she’s got a soft heart like her mother. Email me about your visit with your old friend.

  6. I remember being in those shoes, Daily. My first boyfriend broke up with me and even though I was heartbroken, I was too tough to cry about it. I knew I needed to, so I cut open an onion and went hide on the back porch to wail about it. It didn’t work. I didn’t cry until my mom noticed my dragging ass around the house and asked “What’s wrong with you?”

    Me: “bruhoohoohoo, I got dumped.”

  7. When my son and his first serious girlfriend broke up, it hit me way harder than I thought it would. Part of it, I think, is that I couldn’t fix it — it was that revelation that made me realize that my role as Mom had really changed, and I think I was actually grieving over that as much as I was grieving over their broken relationship.

  8. So sad. But look on the bright side. When you’ve been through it a few times, and it’s coming around again, it won’t hurt as bad because you already know what it feels like and you know you’ve been down this road before and it’s a matter of time before someone else comes along.

    Ok. Maybe it will hurt as bad but at least you won’t contemplate jumping in front of a train.

  9. Ah, so the fair maiden decided that this particular dragon-slaying prince was not her heart’s desire, and must return to his castle in the sky and she to hers. The pangs of young love. ……..and yet the sun will rise over Camelot tomorrow.

  10. That’s another thing about first love, Stil. The heart has not been through the torture of a breakup. I just hope what they both learn from this does not make either of them bitter or afraid to love the way they did the first time.

    Russell, funny you refer to Camelot. I wish I could tell you his real name, I can’t even think of an equivalent, but it is fit for a prince.

    Looks like those two are back together on a trial basis.

Leave a Reply

