I Promise Not To Bore You With This One

Michele tagged me with the infamous page 123 meme. You grab the nearest book and jot down three sentences after the fifth. Maybe including the fifth.

I grab the nearest book which is not mine, it’s Blane’s. Nikola Tesla’s My Inventions. (Click on the photo for link)

It does not have a page 123.

Next book.

Nikola Tesla Colorado Springs Notes 1899-1900.

Oh my. Does a mathematical formula count as a sentence?

I’d lose most of you if I wrote those three sentences, I know, because I got lost, myself.

So lost I want to give up and ditch this post. Thing is, it’s not my nature to give up on anything. I’m the rescue freak. The angel of lost causes. There is also this strong desire to turn this around and make this entertaining.

Tesla? The electricity geek? Entertaining?

Hell yeah. Let’s go back to the first book, the one without 123 pages. Tesla’s autobio. Where is it? I think Blane took it with him and he will not be back until tomorrow (I started this post yesterday)

To Myself: Finish this, Kitty.

Okay. I’ll paraphrase. There was something in there around page seven where Tesla wrote that his mother, at the age of sixty had fingers that were so nimble she could tie three knots in an eyelash.

I am changing this meme. This time around, those tagged have to tie just one knot in an eyelash. No books. No looking for quotes. No excuses.

I dare: Dailytri, Ginny, TigerWillow, Michele, and Max (today is her birthday, go get some cake).

This is not a stunt to get you to link me. In fact, you are forbidden to link back this post. Wait. This could turn into some famous thing. This could be groundbreaking.

Link me baby, one more time.

No, seriously, don’t link. This is not groundbreaking. Just tie a knot in an eyelash. If you do, your fingers are more nimble than mine or you have camel lashes.

That is one thing I can’t do.

14 thoughts on “I Promise Not To Bore You With This One

  1. It’ll never happen. I have weakened dexterity of the left hand from when I took out the ulnar nerve and later all the time it took the thumb to heal that is just now starting to be okay with partial normal use. I am lucky I am pulling off shoe laces with this left hand forget knotting eyelashes.

    Thank you for the birthday thoughts you. Smooch!

  2. You’re welcome, birthday girl. I didn’t know you had problems with your left hand. Damn. And you still type 190 wpm!

    I would have to see someone do this eyelash thing to believe it. My girls tried and they have long eyelashes. They couldn’t do it.

  3. As a sparsely lashed gal, I was loathe to part with even one precious lash. I finally coaxed one out. Ummmm, no. Add that to the ever-growing list of Things I Cannot Do.

  4. I love Tesla. I’m thrilled to see your post about him, that you have books on Tesla lying about your house. The fact that they are not yours personally does not diminish your cool factor.
    Awesome. I’m going to do the book thing now…

  5. LOL, Ginny, I love it that you tried.

    TigerWillow, cool photostream. Those little gnomes are fabulous. Thanks for sharing those links.

    Videoxy, I’m going to write a post soon on why Blane has all these Tesla books. He’s working on something.

  6. Like Ginny , I call bullshit.

    Max — “all the time it took the thumb to heal” This is great news. I thought I may not live to see such a day.

  7. Actually, I got that quote wrong, his mother was 67. LOL.

    He might have been speaking figuratively.

    Sounds good to me, TigerWillow. Gnome beer, I bet it’s strong.

  8. Well just because the guy was a mathematician, that does not mean he was not creative. When math hits the high realms it gets alien smart creative. I am going to go with hyperbole.

Leave a Reply

