Happy Valentine’s, Love

I just adore the way some Brits end a sentence with “love” just as Southerners end theirs with “darlin.'” Once, I asked for directions from a complete stranger with about fifty piercings in his face and ears and he said, “It’s not difficult at all, love…”

Anyone notice all the wild Valentine’s gift commercials out there on late night television? There’s the one for lingerie that suggests if the guy gets his girl some of this stuff he will get a strip show, maybe even a pole dance. The stuffed teddy bear gift one (those start at $80) shows a bunch of ladies in an office oogling a teddy while some clueless dude in a cubicle eavesdrops, then runs to his computer to place an order.

Poor bastard.

Over at Fog City Diva’s, Toni McGee Causey did an excellent guest post just in time for Valetine’s Day, “What’s Love Got to Do with It?”

She goes over a little history of the holiday as well as the commercialization of it. You’ll laugh too, there’s humor in just about everything Toni writes.

You can find Toni blogging mostly at Murderati these days along with a slew of other published writers. Oh Toni, how do you do it all?

6 thoughts on “Happy Valentine’s, Love

  1. Oh, thank you, Kitty! Um… no sleep? Honestly, I feel like a slacker sometimes. I’ve been watching a few other friends who are authors (and damned good ones) and they’re posting on two to three group blogs a week, writing 2 and in one case, 3, books a year (yeah, big fat, smart, books), *and* raising kids. Just listing all of that made me tired. I’ve actually cut back on a lot of things, just to have the time to write, and still feel like I’m not getting enough done.

    Hope everyone enjoys the V-day rant. I get very very cranky about coerced gift-giving.

  2. I’m agog at the reader’s comments there. Each one of them is like a post. I was too scared to jump in and throw down some words. (blushing)

    You’re pretty hard to keep up with, yourself. I went look for you at Killeryear and saw that the big year was over. I think found your Fog City guest post link on your author blog. Which reminds me, I need to add all your blog places to my feed.

  3. My friends and I are a little sillier lately, and tend to end our sentences with ‘right?!’
    I feel it makes us sound like 14-year-olds, but it’s still fun.

    I’m eager to read Toni’s blog and work, at your suggestion. Her message here in the comments, noting all she is NOT getting done is close to my heart. That is the trouble I’m currently plagued with, and so feel encouraged by someone else’s struggle…

Leave a Reply

