We Raised A Good Son

I made a few calls for the Clinton campaign reminding people who voted in the Texas primary to come out and caucus. Having some election phone bank experience from the ’04 swing state project, I fully expected people to hang up on me. That wasn’t the case. A lot of people were screening their calls, and the minute they heard me say who I was with and why I was calling, they picked up. Some of them had election coverage blaring in the background.

A lot of these people just wanted to talk to somebody, anybody who was on their side. One woman told me she and her husband had been fighting for weeks because they weren’t voting the same. Mostly though, I think they were just happy to hear from a democrat. A real one, not a recorded voice. See, my county is the most republican county in Texas. This may be the only day in their lifetime that their vote in a presidential contest ever actually means something.

That’s a big deal.

For a few weeks now our family has been a little divided. Blane and I broke for Clinton and our son Blane and his wife stayed solid behind Obama.

We made light of it by calling each other up when there was substantial news about our candidates. I’d call Blane and say something like “Vote for Clinton,” and he’d jab back, “O-ba-ma!”

There was never any anger, really, because Blane and I are quite proud of our son for making his own choice and not just going along with who his parents are voting for.

We had a lot of fun being in different camps. I especially liked saying “Yes we can!” in a little kid’s voice. He especially liked sending me poll links showing I was supporting a loser.

Since Blane Jr. is still registered in our precinct, we all got to caucus together. Angela is still registered in her parent’s precinct, so she didn’t get to take part in the family feud.

The big showdown started about 6:30 PM at the local elementary school. We couldn’t enter the building until the last person voted in the primary. The line for democrats coiled in the gym a few times, out the door and a ways down the sidewalk. There were only two voting machines for us. The republicans, on the other hand had several machines, way more than we had, so they didn’t have to wait in line for hours to vote.

The number of machines for each party was calculated by the way people voted in the last election. The republicans got to come out and vote quickly and go home early.

The democrats had to wait outside in the cold. We were all told to get there by 7 PM, when the polls close. It took an additional two hours for people to finish voting in the primary. So, we were out there in a parking lot in the cold for two hours.

The Obama supporters, including my son were on one side, we Clinton supporters were gathered on the other. But still close to each other. I kept calling my son telling him, “It’s not too late!”

But he stayed. I’d guestimate there were about 3,000 people in the parking lot split about half and half. Their side would chant “Yes we can!” and we’d yell, “Yes we will!”

We heckled each other in good fun. “Hey, Obama promised sunshine at the polls!” and “I HOPE it doesn’t get any colder out here!”

And them, “Hillary, pick up that damn phone, the terrists are calling!”

Every once in a while I’d go over to the Obama side to talk to my son. There were a lot of families going back and forth between crowds. I, being so freaking curious would ask people, “You going to vote for Hillary if she wins the nomination?” They said they would. I told them the same, they would have my support.

We finally got out of the cold at about 9PM. Since three precincts were voting, it was pretty full, but well organized. People were confused, they just didn’t understand how the process worked, but no one panicked. I was one of the precinct captains, and I didn’t fully understand how it would all work out either, but in the end, people just signed a paper with their choice and left. Some of us stayed for the actual caucus where the complicated part was. We had to elect chairs, count votes, then use a formula to divide up and elect delegates. It ended at 11PM. That’s 4 hours, 2 standing out in the cold for part of one vote.

Why on earth would someone do such a foolish thing?

Because we knew we were making a difference. For the first time, ever.

And hey, guess what? I got elected to be a delegate and get to go to the county convention on the 30th. Blane Jr. got elected too, but for the other side. The feud continues.

Thinking back about all this, I did not see a single person in a wheelchair at the caucus. The process is not handicap friendly or elderly friendly or people with babies friendly. Anyone working in say, a hospital on the 3-11 shift can’t caucus. Do we want to leave these people out? I don’t.

Our precinct drew up a resolution to end this process and it will be presented at the convention.

Here’s a quote I got in an email from the Clinton campaign after she found out she won three of the four states tonight:

“We’re going to do it for everyone across America who’s been counted out — but refused to be knocked out. For everyone who’s stumbled — but stood right back up. And for everyone who works hard — but never gives up. ”

17 thoughts on “We Raised A Good Son

  1. Congrats on becoming a delegate! What happens at the county convention?

    I am so glad she won last night and the race is not over yet – especially after all these pundits called on her to quit and stop the democratic process.

  2. Oops, I forgot to mention Blane Jr. was chosen to be a delegate, too, but for the other side.

    I’m not sure what we do at the county convention. I’ll be reading up on that today.

    Yeah, that was odd, pundits calling for her to drop out. Considering she raised $35 million in February, the people obviously don’t want her to do that. I think both candidates will stay in the race until every last democrat has had their vote counted for one or the other.

    I stil believe the media are titrating this thing. They are making a fortune off the ads.

  3. Kitty, I can’t really articulate why I’m tearing up at your post. I think it’s because what you described is how people should be. We should be able to hold differing opinions and not get angry at each other. Too much hostility in the election process.

    I also was touched that you noted who was being left out of the voting process and are hoping to change that.

    I knew I liked you.

  4. If you have thousands of people in a freezing cold parking lot split into two groups and there is no one able to tell you when you will be able to go in the building—and no fights broke out, there is unity after all. That parking lot was like one big block party.

    The media are trying to create conflict that doesn’t exist, at least not in my precinct. They are the ones serving up the Kool Aid. The media.

    When will people catch on that the democrat primary/caucus is the real election? McCain can’t win. All you have to do is watch his victory speech from last night.

  5. Hi Kitty

    It was like that at our Caucus too.

    But the person running the sight wasn’t putting up with any hijinx- and she knew what how to make this baby work.

    Ahem

    😉

  6. it’s so nice to hear about a whole family participating in politics, discussing it, getting active — even if they don’t agree 100%. you did indeed raise a good son!

  7. Anita Marie, I’m guessing you were the one with the bull whip and the precious envelope. At out place an election judge was the temporary chair and just before we objected to her nomination for the permanent chair she said, “I’m tired, I been here since 6 this morning, I ain’t gonna cheat y’all, I just want to go home.”
    No one had the heart to object. LOL.

    Thanks Sarah. We’ve been having a great time. I guess it’s not like that in every family, I heard on the news two brothers got in a knife fight while arguing Clinton v Obama.

  8. I am so glad you are a delegate! When I vote, I have to take Zach and I’ve done with and without a wheelchair. It is not easy but the people always notice compassionately and give us the space we need. They give him the “voted” sticker too! One year they changed the way we were divided up and I went to three locations before I found my proper voting place….that was so horrible. No way I could do it in the cold or for two hours.

  9. Well it is quite obvious that caucuses disenfranchise people.

    We had three precincts caucus at the school. Our precinct caucused in the gym and the other two were in the cafeteria/auditorium. I got a call this morning about some rough stuff that went on in one of the other precincts, and a lawsuit has been filed.

    How disappointing.

  10. Hi Kitty

    I was the one wearing the black t-shirt with the white dancing skeleton and lettering that read:
    “Gimme Some Skin Baby”

    Plus I was wearing my lucky bracelet.
    It has little silver skull charms on it.

    I think that at the end of the day the t-shirt spoke WAY louder then the whip.

    Yes Indeed.

    I probably had the most well behaved sight in the state.
    Ha.

  11. “Gimme Some Skin Baby”

    You’ve made me laugh myself silly today, Anita. Thanks, I needed that.

    “I probably had the most well behaved sight in the state”

    I would expect no less from you.

  12. Yes, you raised a good son…“O-ba-ma!”… I agree 😉

    I saw a great bumper sticker… it said “I’m voting for Monica Lewinski’s ex-boyfriend’s wife” I haven’t laughed that hard in awhile. If Clinton wins the nomination, though, she WILL have my vote.

    Until then… Obama, baby!

  13. Bit risky. You’ve heard the saying “better the devil you know”. With O Bamy anything could happen.
    Anyway, not my country, not my vote, but we’re force-fed your politics over here for hours every day. One should think there’s no other news happening anywhere in the world. All I can say is that I get feelings, or “vibes” from people and the very first time I saw O Bamy (on your blog when you were his no 1 fan) I got a very bad feeling indeed. Thank God you’ve seen the light. He’s so TRAINED in his preformances, so god damned slick, you wonder if there’s anything real underneath it all. (one wonders, but wouldn’t want to find out what it is) I’ve always thought H Clinton would make a great president, even when the hubby was the boss.

Leave a Reply

