Please explain…

I have two or three questions today.

Angel food cake or devil’s food?

—If angel food, do you use a knife or rip it apart with your bare hands?

Reptillia by The Strokes…

This line:

The room is on fire as she’s fixing her hair.

What does it mean?

Is the room literally on fire and she could care less, or is the room metaphorically on fire because she is fixing her hair? As far as I know The Strokes have never said exactly what that line means.

Here’s the video:

Here are the lyrics.

He seemed impressed by the way you came in
“Tell us a story, i know you’re not boring”
I was afraid that you would not insist
“You sound so sleepy, just take this, now leave me”

I said: “Please don’t slow me down if I’m going too fast”
You’re in a strange part of our town

Yeah, the night’s not over
You’re not trying hard enough,
Our lives are changing lanes
You ran me off the road
The wait is over
Now I’m taking over
You’re no longer laughing
I’m not drowning fast enough

(perfect solo)

Now everytime that I look at myself
“I thought I told you, this world is not for you”
The room is on fire as she’s fixing her hair
“You sound so angry, just calm down you found me”

I said: “Please don’t slow me down if I’m going too fast”
You’re in a strange part of our town

Yeah, the night’s not over
You’re not trying hard enough,
Our lives are changin lanes
You ran me off the road
The wait is over
Now I’m taking over
You’re no longer laughing
I’m not drowning fast enough

11 thoughts on “Please explain…

  1. Hi Michele, I think the girl tried to destroy him, almost did, but he managed to escape.

    Considering the title “Reptilia,” it is about the basic instincts that come into play in the chase part of a romantic relationship.

    “I’m not drowning fast enough” is my favorite line in this song. He’s just telling the girl she failed at destroying him and he belittles her for failing to do so (“you’re no longer laughing”).

  2. I think angel food would be good, you are already scheming how to eat it (fork or fingers).

    I don’t know the song, so I’ll have to get back to you on that…

  3. That’s one devil’s food for Daily.

    Video, I made an angel food cake a couple of days ago and already destroyed the thing. Never used a knife on one of those. It’s like cave man food around here.

  4. I prefer Angel’s food. Chocolate me no likey. Your fingers would get all sticky if you pull it with your hands, but with regular cake, I just eat the icing then pick up and eat the cake part as finger food. And no comment on the lyrics.

  5. 1. Angel foodcake by default for me. I’ve never had devilfood cake. But seeing as though I’m christian, I’d have to go with it anyway lol. and this is just me but the room is on fire like its tense like hell? and she’s fine with it cause she’s the one putting him down? actually i dont really know but thats what i got out of it. i think kitty got it head on

  6. “the room is on fire like its tense like hell? and she’s fine with it cause she’s the one putting him down?”

    Excellent analaysis on that line, ScapulaticStiletto. I hadn’t thought about it that way, but yeah, the tension is there and it makes sense. Thanks for your thoughts on this.

Leave a Reply

