Things We Can Learn From A Dog

During my first week selling real estate, a client of mine had left his mobile phone in a high rise I’d shown him. It was late at night when he realized it was missing and I had to call the listing agent to get back into the property. It was embarrassing and I’m glad I had no idea who I was talking to on the phone, Carolyn Shamis, The Queen of Real Estate in Dallas.

She was extremely cordial, calming, and eventually bought dinner for my client and I at one of the finest restaurants in Dallas.

I stole this from her website and think it’s brilliant.

THINGS WE CAN LEARN FROM A DOG:

1 NEVER PASS UP THE OPPORTUNITY TO GO FOR A JOY RIDE.

2. ALLOW THE EXPERIENCE OF FRESH AIR AND THE WIND IN OUR FACE TO BE PURE ECSTASY.

3. WHEN LOVED ONES COME HOME, ALWAYS RUN TO GREET THEM

4. WHEN IT’S IN YOUR BEST INTEREST, ALWAYS PRACTICE OBEDIENCE.

5. LET OTHERS KNOW WHEN THEY’VE INVADED YOUR TERRITORY.

6. TAKE NAPS AND ALWAYS STRETCH BEFORE RISING.

7. RUN, ROMP AND PLAY DAILY.

8. EAT WITH GUSTO AND ENTHUSIASM.

9. BE LOYAL.

10. NEVER PRETEND TO BE SOMETHING YOU’RE NOT.

11. IF WHAT YOU WANT LIES BURIED, DIG UNTIL YOU FIND IT.

12. WHEN SOMEONE IS HAVING A BAD DAY, BE SILENT, SIT CLOSE BY AND NUZZLE THEM GENTLY.

13. DELIGHT IN THE SIMPLE JOY OF A LONG WALK.

14. THRIVE ON ATTENTION AND LET PEOPLE TOUCH YOU.

15. AVOID BITING WHEN A SIMPLE GROWL WILL DO.

16. ON HOT DAYS, DRINK LOTS OF WATER AND LIE UNDER A SHADY TREE

17. WHEN YOU ARE HAPPY, DANCE AROUND AND WAG YOUR ENTIRE BODY.

18. NO MATTER HOW OFTEN YOU ARE CRITICIZED, DON’T BUY INTO THE GUILT THING AND POUT. RUN RIGHT BACK AND MAKE FRIENDS.

19. SNIFF EVERYTHING BEFORE EATING

7 thoughts on “Things We Can Learn From A Dog

  1. Not about dogs, but about Dallas-

    I was talking to Sarah about Dallas on Tuesday night. We met for dinner and talk,and she said that sometimes she pines for a visit to a nice hotel in Dallas. She goes there for business, and loves visiting there the best of all the remote offices she has to visit. We talked about maybe living in Dallas, but she said she would just visit me there… If I come check it out, I’m going to look you up and you’ll have to show me around. Don’t know when that will be, but I’m not convinced I need to stay in Seattle…

  2. The thing I like about Shamis besides being an outstanding businesswoman is what she did to get started.
    The story goes she came town with hardly any money. She went to a thrift store and bought a fur coat and then got this beat up old Rolls Royce and a load of costume jewelry.
    She created the appearance of success. “Fake it till you make it” was her motto.

    I love the idea that a penniless woman just breezed into town and became the queen of real estate here.

    Francis, Dallas is a hotspot for fashion. I’ve never been to Seattle, so I can’t really compare the two cities. Since we are an oil based economy, we are set to weather the recession okay. So far the housing market is not too bad here. We didn’t have that bubble or inflated housing prices, so the home prices have been relatively stable. Sales are down overall, about 25% from last year.

  3. Oh no, my grandmother would never let anyone get away with number nineteen. One time my mother did and my grandmother barked, “What are you? Some kind of dog?!?”

    Seriously. I’m not making this up.

Leave a Reply

