Sweetpea and the Cure for AIDS

Sweetpea, being a middle child doesn’t always get enough attention in this house. Every once in a while I’ll do something special like bake some muffins just for her and declare it Middle Child Day. I was a middle child and although I never really felt left out of things, I believed the hype when I heard it growing up.

The thing about Sweetpea and attention is she doesn’t really ask for it. She’s independent and moves through an amazing social life. While she almost always sleeps here at night, rambling runs in her veins. She doesn’t seem to need me as much as the others do. Always was like that.

Although she doesn’t have a big rep for being a brain, she does have an impressive mind and often surprises us. Her vocabulary is average, but what she has, she uses well.

Last year, while on a girl’s day out, she mentioned to Spank and I that she had the cure for AIDS. Now Spank and I didn’t discourage her or say how naive we thought she was. We didn’t even laugh. Sweetpea was talking about mutated genes and some specifics, but neither Spank nor I know a whole lot about gene therapy. We sure as hell never saw Sweetpea reading stacks of medical journals, so…

Meanwhile, this past week Sweetpea got her SAT scores. Surprised everyone but me. I kept telling them she was going to blow their minds, but since they know she’s not “married to the school” they didn’t expect a whole lot.

Moms know things like this about their kids, whether they are intelligent. We are a bit biased, sure, but we know their potential.

I know it from how she solves problems in unique ways.

That puzzle took her ten minutes to solve. It has graduated shades of different colors that you mix up much like a Rubik’s Cube but with this one, the balls are pushed in and moved horizontally and laterally. None of us could solve it, and one of us can solve a Rubik’s Cube in less than a minute (Blane).

So back to Sweetpea having the cure for AIDS. A BBC article out this week claims doctors in Berlin cured an AIDS patient with a bone marrow transplant that involved a mutated CCR5 receptor gene.

That CCR5 gene was exactly what she was talking about.

I guess this all sounds ridiculous, maybe a bit unclassy and boastful, but today I just want to show some love for my girl, my middle child. She did ace that SAT.

13 thoughts on “Sweetpea and the Cure for AIDS

  1. On the surface she might not be the obvious choice for accolades, but that is only going to give her the time and room to develop things without people breathing down her neck or distracting her. It’s awesome that you know what’s inside her and believe in her greatness!

  2. Bragging about yourself is bad. Bragging about your kids shows that you love them. And there isn’t enough love in the world so go right ahead and tell us all about your great kids. She sounds wonderful.

  3. I would like her to actually study and take it again. Not likely to happen, Blane Jr. was the same way, he did well on his first try without studying and he was a jr. when he took it.

    There are some kids in this school district who have made perfect scores on that thing. I’m not expecting anything near perfect, but these kids go to exemplary schools and I’d like them to take full advantage of it.

Leave a Reply

