Debride

Besides the obvious reasons for exercise, I like to get on the treadmill to debride my mind and soul of all the dead and unnecessary junk that drags me down. Whenever and wherever I roll, I pack light.

The best exercise equipment I have is my iPod. I don’t think I could do it if I didn’t have music to take me away. Actually there is not much at I can do without music.

I am constantly making new playlists as I don’t want to create song aversions, that is, I don’t want to hear a song and think oh, exercise.

I’ll share my most recent playlist with you in hopes that one of these songs will get you too off your butt and on the bandwagon.

For warming up/stretching out, I must have a great song to get me motivated for the entire ordeal. So I like slower paced songs for this. Meditative type songs.

Razor by Foo Fighters.


I love the acoustic guitar in here. I especially like the line, “Day after day, cutting away.”

10,000 Days (Wings for Marie part 2) by Tool. One of the best songs ever made, and it makes me cry sometimes.

The tempo builds toward the middle of this long song so it’s a good one for increasing the grade of the treadmill while it’s playing.

I need faster paced songs for the climbs. Thirty minutes of brutality and I turn it up loud so I don’t have to hear myself gasp and groan.

Love Lockdown by Kanye West. The percussion in here is amazing. The video is pretty cool, especially when those people jump out the frame. 

w.a.m.s. Fall Out Boy.
I love the line, “Let’s meet in the purgatory of my hips and get well”.

Tear Away by Drowning Pool. The ultimate narcissist song, but the last thing you’ll think of is you when you listen to the lyrics. I love the refrain, “I don’t care about anyone else but me.” Know someone like that?

Piece of Me by Britney Spears. I know, but yeah, I do listen to pop sometimes.

Let It Rock by Kevin Rudolf ft. Lil Wayne. One of those songs that gives me a burst of energy. Lil Wayne has the midas touch, he’s in everything on the radio right now.

Land of Confusion by Disturbed (remake). I like this one better than Genesis‘ original. I know, shame on me, but I do tend to be open to remakes of old songs.

Sam’s Town by The Killers. Love the crazy keyboard opener. Like a circus show! I love every note of this song.

Enter Sandman by Metallica. That one’s on just about every playlist I’ve ever created. That is my second wind song. It’s funny, I think I have trained my body to pump out adrenaline when this one comes on.

Save Yourself by Stabbing Westward.

Wake Up by Rage Against the Machine. Love the bass in here.

Riot by Three Days Grace. Why not start one?

Hypnotize by System of a Down.

Snychronicity II by The Police.

15 Step by Radiohead.

Revelry by Kings of Leon (Every song on their last CD, Only by Night is excellent)

And how’s this for strange? I have a classical one on there:

Rain by Ryuichi Sakamoto. Great for a fast paced walk. Gets slow in the middle, so sometimes have to skip to the next song.

Some world music, too. 

Jai Ho by AR Rahman. From the soundtrack Slumdog Millionaire. Westernized Bollywood. This is an uplifting song, I can listen to it three times back to back.

Sometimes I won’t make a playlist, I’ll just target a certain artist and listen to that.

What do you listen to when you work out?

17 thoughts on “Debride

  1. I listen to stories, lots and lots of stories, when I’m working out (or cleaning house or driving). Music can also work, but I simply love having somebody tell me stories, which is why I love audible.com.

    I was going to do some of that nifty free-downloading from the library but the libraries are all set up with PC-only abilities when it comes to downloading audio so that sucks majorly, and means I still send audible my love and money.

  2. Since my main workout tool right now is Wii Fit – nothing 🙂 You know I spent 35 minutes yesterday going through every single strength routine I have unlocked and it was GOOD. Worked out all muscle groups and then some and am wonderfully sore today and looking forward to doing that again! Usually I do the 30 minute free step at the fastest speed while carrying my hand weights and do that while watching Keith O or Rachel M at night. If I listen to music – I’m going to dance and sing – no way around that for me! Which is why I also rarely listen to music while working as many of my co-workers do – I start tapping my feet and humming!!

  3. Thankfully the gym has a decent radio station on most days. And there are TVs with the morning talk shows to watch. Sometimes I try to flip through a magazine. I do have a neat MP3 player and I’d love to use it, but I don’t. I have to be able to hear what is going on around me because I need to hear if my kids are having a meltdown in the daycare.

  4. That’s okay Michele, it’ll work out your right brain.

    Rassles, you’re pretty active with your young self. I got tired just reading about your chugga chugga choo choo pubspotting experience.

    Pooks, I can’t do audio books. I’ve tried but have never made it past the second chapter of anything.

    TP, I tried step aerobics once but I was so bad at following instructions I messed everyone up. I bet they celebrated when I left that class.

    Melanie, I had a different treadmill about 10 years ago that was set up perfectly for reading magazines. That made the time pass much faster. This new one though, the thing that holds the books/mags is just too far away and I can’t see.

  5. Now I know I’m old. I’ve never heard of any of these artists. I’m more likely to put on some sakahachi music and meditate. My workout is doing the laundry downstairs. And I don’t really walk the dog, She walks, I’m usually on my scooter. I might try to do better at leaving the scooter home for that. I depends on how much good drugs my doc will spot me.

  6. I think with any given playlist, I’d be lucky find anyone who would like more than two songs on the list. Probably why I don’t put them up more often.

    Why do you use a scooter if you don’t mind me asking?

  7. I almost always warm up with acid bath, not limited to but these 3 are usually first played.


    the third song speeds up and then i usually have a random mixture of korn, limp bizkit, metallica, manson, afi, atreyu. a few others like rob zombie, my chem, killers, red jsa, and so forth slip in when i get bored. Most always i keep my ears tuned to rock.

  8. hey i just realized something. Kitty, I wiki’d acid bath on google. I knew that they were from LA but had little more information about them than that.

    Check out their wiki.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Acid_Bath

    look specifically at the members and the hometown area. Hmmmm,
    I wonder if that person is related to us somehow.

  9. Those are some good tunes, Capone, thanks. I’d never heard of Acid Bath.
    We listen to a lot of the same stuff while exercising.

    Wow, that name Audie Pitre sounds so familiar. I’ll ask our cousins, I bet Shea knows them, he’s around the same age.

  10. The funniest thing that happened over Christmas was when I put the song Riot on and my six year-old nephew came bouncing in from the TV room, thrashing away and shouting, “I LOOOOOVE this one! I LOOOOVE this one!”

    He meant it too.

    He knew the words and everything.

  11. One time Blane and I had my 5 year old niece in the car and some metal song came on. This little sqeaky voice from the back seat says, “Can you turn it up Unka Blane, I like it loud.”
    We were cracked up.

Leave a Reply

