How’d you like to own a town?

So you wanna be a cowboy/cowgirl?

I find this fascinating, an entire town in Texas is for sale.

Picture 1

That’s right, folks, it comes with an ice house (what is that?), dance hall, peach orchard, a creek, a three bedroom ranch style home (what other style could it be?). They’ve just knocked $288,000 off the price to a grand total of $595,000.

Now hold your horses. This place is in wine country. One hour from Austin. Which means it’s also hill country.

Okay. Let’s just assume you inherited this town. What would you do with it?

Here’s the website if you want more details: Albert, Texas

I’d start by changing the name.

Speaking of wine country…

If you haven’t cast you vote for Max yet, there is still time to help her make the first cut. She only needs 25 more votes. 25!

Hit this link and vote to send her to wine country. Don’t forget to reply to the confirmation email or it won’t count.

Max is a published writer and produced screenwriter. She is also my writing teacher. Yay for teachers! If you have more than one email address, you can vote again. They won’t spam you, I voted last week with four different email addresses and haven’t gotten anything from them other than the confirmation email. They also promise not to spam you.

Just think. Your vote could be THE ONE that helps her make the first cut. That is power.

14 thoughts on “How’d you like to own a town?

  1. I didn’t know it was possible to “own” a town? Sort of a really big real estate purchase, I guess. I think it sounds lonely, but with some interesting potential if you could gather up 100 or so of your closest friends and form your own little world…

  2. It could be really nice not having neighbors. Shopping could be a far piece away. Nah not a country person. Must shop. Max got another vote.

  3. I would love my own town, I could keep out the riffraff, stalkers, hooligans, telemarketers, bill collectors and anyone else I see fit.

    I could also impose a curfew for silence. Because sometimes, silence is bliss šŸ™‚

    Whaddya say you lend me that $600k and I’ll set you up real nice in a house, free of charge. šŸ™‚

  4. Michele, I’m thinking this would be a great place to film some westerns.

    Rassles, I want you to have this town. You’d be the best sheriff, ever.

    Holly, it does sound so incredibly lonely.

    Thanks for the vote, voodoo! yay! yeah, the lack of shops would kill me. I’m not much of a shopper, but when I don’t have the access, I lose my mind.

    Michele, no bill collectors, riffraff, stalkers, holligans, and telemarketers allowed? That sounds like a great place. The curfew would be the deal killer though.
    I like my quiet sometimes, but I go nuts if it is too quiet.

    I wonder if they have internet out there in Albert, Texas?

  5. 4 email accounts = 4 more votes for Max. I liked her video, too, so I can feel good about voting…. it ain’t lying. All confirmed – tell her she has to have a glass of red vino for me.

    Roamed around the Albert, TX website and it looks like a beautiful part of the countryside. About 20 years ago I did a driving tour of TX and NM – loved the Waco to Austin part of the drive and spent a couple of days in Austin and area. I remember an upscale hillside restaurant overlooking the river…. beautiful vista.

    So, to buy the town using CDN dollars….. that would be approximately a kazillion $. šŸ™‚

    (Texas isn’t my home but it sure looks tempting)

  6. Yay!!!! four votes from Norm! Thanks so much.

    I think that town is between Waco and Austin. I’m crazy about Austin, almost moved there a few years ago but it would have been too much to uproot these kids from their schools.

  7. Thanks for voting everyone, but Max didn’t make the top fifty. She had enough votes, I don’t know what other criteria they were looking at.

Leave a Reply

