Bizarre

This is the second time in my life that I’ve seen such a thing, a road buckled due to extreme temperatures.

photo

It’s been hot here.

When I was a kid, my mom and I were driving down the highway. There had been a heat wave, the worst I could remember, and while we were out on that road, things began to change. A light sprinkle of rain began. The road was so hot, the raindrops turned to steam. It looked so bizarre.

Then there was chaos. Sections of the highway on both sides began to buckle, hundreds of them. Most of the cars stopped as soon as they could, but there were quite a few cars that got stuck on the peaks of broken road, like see-saws. Don’t forget the steam fog. It looked like a horror movie set.

I wish I had a photo of that.

13 thoughts on “Bizarre

  1. Nurse, yeah, I think of it that way sometimes. Actually it’s North Texas presently. My mom and I were in Louisiana when the highway buckled.

    Voodoo, we were on the highway toward Port Barre. We just took the service road to get back home if I remember right.

  2. I’ve never seen buckling that bad. A few years ago in Wisconsin it got so hot that the highways buckled. I couldn’t believe what I was seeing. It raised them up about an inch or so at the seam. It was like they planned for the roads to do that, so every 6-7 ft. they would lay another section of concrete/cement with a little gap in between. Weird.

  3. Same thing here, Michele, I couldn’t believe what I was seeing. I’d never heard of such a thing and thought maybe it was an earthquake. Strange, strange, strange.

  4. Pingback: Geocoins! « Silverstar’s Magical Adventures (and assorted rants)

  5. Wow! I’ve seen this happen to rails before. I’ve had to change travel plans because of rails doing something like this, but I’ve never heard about a road doing this.

  6. You know they began to repair that street just after I took the photo?

    I was hoping to go back and jump that thing on my bike. (kidding, but they did fix it the same day it broke)

  7. And I thought it was only our roads that are fucked up. I’ve never seen a street buckle like that. It’s as if you’re standing on top of a bridge the exact same moment a boat is about to pass right under.

  8. I always wondered why there are so many holes in the road after winter up north. Crumbling from extreme cold makes sense.

    It reminds me of that too, Soph, the parts of the bridge rising for a boat to pass under.

Leave a Reply

