Why Exercise?

Do you work out? Do you find that exercise doesn’t really help you lose weight?

For the most part, I don’t either, especially after reading this article in Time magazine.

I hate to do that to you, send you to read something that could make you want to just step off that stair climber and hit the sofa with a box of donuts.

I read that article back in September, when my feet were in agonizing pain the minute I woke up. Painful because I do way too much time on the treadmill. So much, that I had to tape my feet before exercise.

So I decided to take a break. I got a bike. As with anything exercise related, I overdid it, and soon found myself with an aching knee. I then pulled out the WiiFit and did a little yoga here and there. Not too much. Total rest for the feet and knees.

Did I gain any weight after two months off? Not really, a couple of pounds at the most. So why the hell exercise?

When my mom came to visit a couple of weeks ago, she was using a walker for a bad knee. A week later, my mother-in-law came and broke her leg while walking though the door.

Both of these women struggled just to get around the house. I hated to see it, but in seeing it I realized one very good reason to exercise every single day. It builds bone density and keeps you mobile. It also helps the body use insulin better. And you can outrun all of your friends, maybe even your kids. It’s good stuff.

I got back to my treadmill routine and my feet are no longer hurting. I’m still doing as much, but have stopped trying to increase my speed. Which means i have to spend more time on there.

In the past, I have lost a handful of pounds by exercising, but I think most of that has to do with diet. I think twice before eating a cookie because I know how much exercise that thing is going to cost me (a half mile of sweat). In that sense, exercise does help with weight loss.

7 thoughts on “Why Exercise?

  1. I spend HOURS at the gym every week. Seriously – 4 or 5 mornings a week you’ll find me doing my time on the eliptical or the AMT. I’ve done it for years, changing up my routine from time to time. Yet I never lose any weight. I know I don’t eat right all the time, but you’d think all of that exercising would make a difference at some point.

  2. It does make a difference. Compare two people who weigh the same. They don’t look the same, the one who exercises will be more toned. Also, the person who exercises regularly will have a lower blood pressure and cholesterol levels, stronger bones, more muscles…
    It does a lot, but weight loss is not really one of the benefits.

    Losing weight is simple. Four words. Eat less, move more. So it has to be a combo of diet and exercise to lose weight. Way easier said than done, however.

  3. It’s funny, but I’ve never thought of exercise as a way to lose weight – that always attributed to eating 🙂 No, it was always about being fit and more healthy overall. Since I started going to the group training back in June (1 0r 2 times a week), I feel a lot stronger. It’s about shape vs weight. I sleep more consistently better & have more steady energy levels during the day.

    Plus I’m started to build some kick ass abs – that’s kinda cool at 45! 🙂

Leave a Reply

