Gifts that leave me speechless

Back when we were in school, I used to make almost all of my gifts. I’d paint, sew, cross stitch, bake, you name it, do whatever I had to do to ghetto a gift. Seems as if things were simpler then, people didn’t expect much and they ended up way pleased with whatever I had to give.

I wish I still had that creative spirit in me, handmade gifts are my favorite things to give and receive. Money complicates and uglifies gift giving. So I’m going to shut up about that.

Here’s something Kara’s boyfriend made for her birthday. Brilliant, isn’t it? He bought a pair of white canvas sneakers and drew her favorite Alice in Wonderland characters on them.

Click on photo to enlarge for detail

They are not identical, each is half of a continuous scene.

Spanky is working like a mad dog on her Christmas presents. See this necklace? She did not buy that chain, she made it, link by link with some little metal O’s.

It took her four hours to create this one. She knows it is easier to just go out and buy a chain, but this is a special pattern Spanky created especially for this person.

I don’t even know how to end this post because I’m overwhelmed by the thoughtfulness of these gifts. Oh, wait, Rassles is making a quilt out of her late grandfather’s old suits to give to her dad.

I have no more words. Just watery eyes.

5 thoughts on “Gifts that leave me speechless

  1. I love the necklace!!! And those shoes? They are the definition of awesome. (And not just because I have a soft spot for Alice, having played her myself back-in-the-day.)

    I like handmade, too. It feels so much better and ultimately, I feel like I really am giving a piece of myself. Showing that you give someone your time is, I think, the greatest of gifts.

  2. My dad used to make wooden cutouts for me and I’m so glad I have that. Now that he’s gone, I treasure them even more.
    Mom also made things such as dolls and stuffed animals that I’ve kept.
    Good treasures.

  3. Those shoes are incredible. Seriously. And thanks for the shout-out. I didn’t finish the whole quilt for my dad yet – but I finished the top and the bottom, and I just need to quilt the two pieces together. He loved it, though, so that’s pretty cool.

    Merry Christmas, by the way!

  4. Thanks Rassles, I hope you had a great vacation in the sun and a wonderful Christmas.

    I’m still awestruck by that quilt, your dad is so lucky to have such a thoughtful and talented daughter.

Leave a Reply

