Done

I’ve figured out yet another reason why I don’t like putting up a tree. It’s because I put it in the front of the house where no one in the house actually sees the thing. I put it there because there is a perfect little spot where the stairs coil up and around this nook and it just seems to be begging for the tree to go there.

See, it looks just right in that spot.

Last night I was talking to my son about putting up the tree and he said, “You never put up a tree.”

His dad and I just looked at each other and laughed, we put one up almost every year. See? No one even realizes it’s there.

This year I’ve decided to put it in the family room. I know, I still haven’t put it up yet. The gingerbread house too, it is still in the box waiting to be assembled. I’ll get to that too.

I do finally have all of my Christmas shopping DONE with a couple of days to spare. Yesterday was a wonderful 68 whopping degrees, no sunshine, but I didn’t even have to wear as much as a long sleeve shirt out there. I wish I’d waited to do ALL of my shopping yesterday because the weather was so nice.

Now I know it’s wimpy to complain about temps in the 30s and 40s as “freezing,” but I’m not used to that down here in Texas and never have a thick enough coat for those days. I don’t own a single hat. I can’t remember the last time I’ve used a scarf, either. That’s how it is. When summer comes around we have to deal with thirty straight days of triple digit temps, so we do our time down here with extremes. It’s only fair, right?

3 thoughts on “Done

  1. We ended up putting it in the family room and I really love it there since that’s where we spend most of our time.

    There are some houses around here that put up two Christmas trees. One in the front for show and another in the living room for the family to enjoy.

    If I ever do that, I want someone to just shoot me.

Leave a Reply

