Romancing the Blog

Here I am dragging my ass to the finish line of my fourth year of Holidailies, the thing where we promise to blog every day for 31 days straight. This year was very different than the others in that I didn’t feel as pressured to blog.

Over the last four years, I’ve learned there are no Holidailies police, and it is okay to play catch up with posting, for example, post twice in one day because you missed yesterday.

I’ve also learned being behind on posting does not make one ineligible from having a post of theirs selected for “Best of Holidailies.

Someone asked me once if I knew any of the judges. I have no idea who judges the posts or how many of them there are. I do know they read a ton of posts every day, probably about a hundred. I don’t have a sitemeter to stalk down who reads what or how long they stay here, but I do have the WordPress admin panel that tells me I’ve got hits coming from “reader’s pick.” Without fail for every single post, even if it’s a crappy one.

So I’d like to thank you nameless, faceless Holidailies Judges out there, whoever you are. Just for coming here and reading.

I’d also like to thank Jette and Chip for organizing and hosting Holidailies. This project is not only an amazing way to meet new bloggers and get back to reading some old favs, it also keeps my mind on writing. I’ve been really slack about that in the last year and although I never intended to give up blogging, I’ve been so neglectful toward something that has given me so much joy and gotten me through some very rough days.

With Holidailies2009, I fell in love with my blog again.

Thanks to everyone who participated in Holidailies and those who watched from the sidelines. Maybe next year you will join us?

Thanks also to Jennifer at Whispers of Fairydust for creating the above Holidailies badge.

8 thoughts on “Romancing the Blog

    • It’s open to anyone, just go to Holidailies.org around December 1st at the end of the year and there will be info if they are doing it again. I think this was their 9th year.

  1. I agree with you completely on the value of Holidailies as a way to meet new bloggers. I look forward to it each year! And it has been nice reading your posts.

  2. Agreed on Holidailies — I love that it has a warm and cozy sort of feel. Little pressure, etc. Curious about the readers, too! It’s interesting to see what gets selected for ‘best of’ and is a great way to find good blogs without feeling overwhelmed.

    Happy Birthday!

    • Good point Holly about not feeling overwhelmed.

      Thanks for the birthday wishes, happy birthday back atcha. It’s so cool to share a birthday with you.

Leave a Reply

