Lens help needed

One of the stupidest things I’ve ever written is that I use my point and shoot Panasonic around the house for snapshots of the family. I realized as soon as I’d posted this (I can’t remember which blog post it was) that things should be the other way around as pictures of my family are way more important than any of the others I take.

So I’m glad I wrote that stupid thing because it made me realize that I should only use the point and shoot when I have to (places where dslr cameras aren’t allowed, such as concerts) or on a trip where I don’t want to be weighted down with a heavy camera.

To be fair to myself, the point and shoot does take wider angle photos which is great for shooting inside a house especially if there are a lot of people to fit into the frame.

So. Wide angle lens needed!

With this newish camera I have, I only own a couple of lenses, so this Christmas would be a good time to add a wide angle lens. I haven’t done much research yet, but I know I don’t want a fish eye lens.

Anyone have recommendations? This is mostly for carrying with me on trips, so I think I’ll go with a fixed length good quality glass.

Holidailies 2010 Badge

9 thoughts on “Lens help needed

    • Holly, I remembered you have a thing for your wide angle but couldn’t remember which one you had. I went through your blog on the rss feed hoping to find anything you’d written about that lens but no luck. So glad you stopped by, I was about to shoot you an email. Thanks, thanks, thanks.

      I’d love to get a prime like that 14, but it is just too much moolah right now. I’m going to go with something like the 17-40 for Christmas and the 28 1.8 for my birthday (that one will be great for dragging around with me on trips).

      Man, I can’t wait to get started with these.

Leave a Reply

